Other Breed Rescues


DIRECTORY OF BREED RESCUE CONTACT INFORMATION

AMERICAN ESKIMO DOG:
Heart Bandits American Eskimo Dog Rescue
Email: HeartBanditsMail@aol.com or mail@heartbandits.com
Dan or Kim SenkeRocka, (559) 787-2459
Email: AESKRESCUE@aol.com 
Terry Thistlethwaite, (760) 3773534
Email :Avondell@juno.com
Website: www.heartbandits.com


ANATOLIAN SHEPHERD:
German Shepherd Rescue of Los Angeles, California
(818) 558-7560, Email: gsrescue@gsrescue.org
Website: www.gsrescue.org

AUSTRALIAN SHEPHERD:  

Aussie Rescue & Placement Helpline, Inc. (ARPH): 1-877-277-4779
Second Time Around Aussie Rescue (STAAR):  1-877-372-8387
Melandval@earthlink.net (ARPH Volunteer)
DreamtimeAussies@compuserve.com (STAAR Volunteer)
Keppie@softhome.net (STAAR Volunteer)
Whiskpurr@aol.com   (STAAR Volunteer)
WEBSITE:  www.geocities.com/Heartland/Ridge/2318

AUSTRALIAN TERRIER:
Southern California:
Nedra Adams, Palmdale, CA, (661) 266-1557
Email: MomAussie@aol.com
National Coordinator: Darlene Evans, Fremont, CA, (510) 490-1289
Email: darlenevans@earthlink.net
National Website: Www.Australianterrierrescue.org

BASENJI:
Karen, (818) 761-7668, Email karen@basenjirescue.com
Chuck, (661) 269-2364, Pager/Voice Mail (661) 5748366
Email chuck@basenjirescue.com
Website:  basenjirescue.com

BASSET HOUND:
Purebreds:  Most of Southern California:           
           Basset Hound Rescue of Southern California
               Robin Sutton, (805) 524-9353, Email:  Sutton2@MediaOne.net
               Website:  Www.BassetHoundRescue.org
          Purebreds and Mixes:  Los Angeles and San Fernando Valley:
               Basset Rescue Connection
                Dawn or Tami, (800) 411-2388, Email  Basset911@aol.com
                Website:  www.bassethoundrescue.com
Purebreds and Mixes:  
Beagles & Buddies Dog Rescue (Covering Southern California):
2661 Strozier Ave., El Monte, CA 91733              (626) 444-9664.  
Email:   bglrsq@earthlink.net   
            Website: www.beaglesandbuddies.com       

BEAGLE:
Southern California:
Beagles & Buddies Dog Rescue
2661 Strozier Ave., El Monte, CA 91733
                 (626) 444-9664, Email:   bglrsq@earthlink.net
               Website: www.beaglesandbuddies.com       
Southern California:                   
Beagle Adoption and Rescue Center of Southern California
(714) 826-0928, Email:  CHBeagle@aol.com (Janet)        Northern California:  
Northern California Beagle Rescue
(408) 5936898 or (510) 7700208
Website:  www.Beagles.snuggas.com

BEARDED COLLIE:
Toni Nyquist, (408) 448-2060, Email:  tomarro@mindspring.com
Ann Rambaud, (909) 822-6451
National Coordinator:  Paul Glatzer, (516) 724-0871 (OK to call collect)
Email:  psglatz@aol.com

BEAUCERON:

Ron and Debbie Skinner, (909) 767-9136, Email beauce1@pe.net
Website: www.pe.net/~beauce1/les_resc.htm.

BELGIAN SHEPHERD:
[Including: Malinois, Tervuren, Groenendael,and Laekenois -- all are Belgian
Shepherds]
Kimberly Buchanan, (562) 438-3970, Email:  kimbuchanan@earthlink.net
Teri Meredyth, (310) 326-6447, Email Teri2ns@earthlink.net

BORDER COLLIE:

All California:  
Bobbie, Border Collie Rescue of California
(760) 3886609, Email:  Bcrescue@aol.com
San Diego:  (760) 7498085, Email:  sheeples@worldnet.att.net
Kern County:  Email:  bordercollierescue@ridgecrest.ca.us

BORDER TERRIER:
Riggsrun Border Terriers and Rescue
Cheryl Riggs, (760) 8684214, Email:  rysheron@aol.com

BOXER:
Most of California:
Boxer Rescue of L.A. Ursula Sauthier, (213) 532-6541
Email boxer@boxer-rescue-la.com
Northern California: Cindy Seminatore, Email misty@phc.net
Arizona: Trish Spencer, Email Tspencer@mail.farnam.com

BULLDOG:
Southern California:
First Contact: Jim Walsh, (818) 387-0039
Second Contact: (650) 851-3386, Email MaryRick@aol.com
Northern California:
First Contact:  Linda Harryman (925)2481363
Email: Tassa2550@aol.com
Second Contact:  Mary Aiken (650)8513386
Email: MaryRick@aol.com

BULLDOG, FRENCH:
Linda and Eric, (818) 557-0566, Email:  fbdrescue@cin.net

CAIRN TERRIER:
Cairn Terrier Club of Central Califonria
Katrina Sussmeier, (408) 268-9688
Email k@starlinkproductions.com

CHESAPEAKE BAY RETRIEVER:
North San Diego:  Emma Skinner, (760) 943-7858
Email emmaskinner@aol.com
Santa Ana/Los Angeles: Art Durazzo
(714) 543-7874 or (323) 660-2450 x. 3119
Email amdurazzo@hsc.usc.edu
Website: Www.cbrrescue.org

CHIHUAHUA

SANTA BARBARA CHIHUAHUA RESCUE
Contact Barbara at 805-563-1385 or email
sbchihuahuarescue@cox.net 


CHOW CHOW:

Los Angeles:  Tracy Mynhier, (310) 204-0915
Email Mynhier@mediaone.net.   Website http://go.to/wlashelter
Santa Barbara: Jose Callejon, Chow Dog Rescue, Inc., (805) 961-2060
Email rescue@chowdog.com.   Website www.chowdog.com

COLLIE, ROUGH:
Stephen Colley, Altadena, (626) 398-8987, Email:  lassieresq@aol.com

Southland Collie Rescue 
pollycup@yahoo.com

COLLIE, SMOOTH:
Stephen Colley, Altadena, (626) 398-8987, Email:  lassieresq@aol.com

Southland Collie Rescue 
pollycup@yahoo.com

CORGI, CARDIGAN WELSH:
Helen Turin, (714) 528-5459, Email HBTurin@aol.com

CORGI, PEMBROKE WELSH:
Pembroke Welsh Corgi Club of Southern California
Debbie Blais (760) 941-6599, Email debbiejdb@aol.com
Pat Wiggins (818) 708-7960, Email rwiggins@socal.rr.com
Debra Slaght (909) 369-0854
Virginia Ream (619) 448-7925
Gwen Platt (760) 480-8348, Email Rojanway@home.com
Arizona:  Duane Forbes, (480) 924-5654
Email Patent_corgis@worldnet.att.com

DACHSHUND:
Orange County:
Dena Delgado, (562) 694-6868, Email delgadog@ix.netcom.com
Los Angeles County:
Mary Lou Force, (818) 870-8436, Email mforce@ucla.edu
Ventura, Santa Barbara, Fresno, San Luis Obispo, and Modesto Counties:
Alda Magdaleno, (805) 964-8536, Email: longdawgs@juno.com
Riverside and Desert Communities:
Bonnie Gold, (760) 251-8628, Email Sadeegodiva@aol.com
Lancaster, Bakersfield, San Bernardino:
Joy Brunn, (661) 943-4888, Email Doxykeeper@aol.com
San Diego County:
Nikki Rainwater, (858) 513-7939, Email PAWLVR@aol.com
Covering Southern California:  
Beagles & Buddies Dog Rescue
2661 Strozier Ave., El Monte, CA 91733
                 (626) 444-9664.  
Email:   bglrsq@earthlink.net   
                Website: www.beaglesandbuddies.com       

DALMATIAN:
All Southern California:  
Antelope Valley Dalmatian Rescue
P.O. Box 3434, Quartz Hill, CA 93586
(661) 949-1795
Email:  easytospot@earthlink.net
Website:  www.avdalrescue.homestead.com
All Southern California:
California Rescue Railroad
Email:  gmckenzie@loop.com
Website:  www.loop.com/~gmckenzie
Save the Dalmatians of Southern California, Inc.
P.O. Box 47031-432, Gardena, CA 90247-6831.   
24-hour Voicemail:  (310) 784-5718
Email:  rescue@savethedals.org    
Website:  www.savethedals.org

DANDIE DINMONT TERRIER:
Carol R. Hamilton, (626) 330-4708
Email: katiedid.dandies@worldnet.att.net

DOBERMAN PINSCHER:
Ardis Munck, Fillmore, CA, (805) 524-5102
Julie Carlsen, Long Beach, CA, Email dobierescue_julie@yahoo.com
Website: www.dobierescue.org

ELKHOUND, NORWEGIAN:
Norwegian Elkhound Assn. of Southern California Rescue Coordinator
Lori Webster, (909) 351-2554, Email loriwebster@earthlink.net
Margaret Williamson, (619) 423-8654, Email seacrest@4dcomm.com

ENGLISH SHEPHERD
jan@caledoniamission.org
National English Shepherd Rescue, Ltd.
http://www.nesr.info/

FOX TERRIER, SMOOTH:
So. Calif. Fox Terrier Rescue, (909) 672-2008, or (760) 369-0710
Email: dobra@pe.net, or kstambaugh@thegrid.net
Website: www.geocities.com/dobraftr

GERMAN SHEPHERD:
German Shepherd Rescue of Los Angeles, California
(818) 558-7560 Email: gsrescue@gsrescue.org
Website: www.gsrescue.org

GERMAN SHORTHAIRED POINTER:
Southern California:  
Jan Flaherty or Kelly Burch, (760) 726-4813
Email scalgsprsq@nctimes.net
Stephanie Casdorph, (909) 798-3491, Email Casdorph@juno.com

GOLDEN RETRIEVER:
BARC (Benevolent Animal Rescue Committee)
(909) 767-0289, P.O. Box 1822, Temecula, CA 92593
Email: BARC@rescuers.com
Website: www.rescuers.com/barc
Janna Smith, 6612703294, Orange County to Ventura County
Email:  jannasmith@mindspring.com
Website:  www.goldenretrieverrescue.com

GORDON SETTER:
Jane Matteson, (909) 986-8055
Sandy Rust, (760) 363-7307, Email blumis@cci-29palms.com

GREAT PYRENEES:
Dottie Sisco, Devore, CA, (909) 887-8201, Email dsisco7777@aol.com
Linda McInturff, Riverside, CA, (909) 780-6804, Email mcinturff@earthlink.net
         Nancy Cristillo, Hermosa Beach, CA, (310) 372-0558, Email
mcristillo@aol.com

GREYHOUND:
CA / Orange County and Greater Los Angeles:
Greyhound Pets of America, (562) 694-3519
Southern California: (800) 298-5743
National: (800) 366-1472
Email: gpa@pacbell.net
Website: www.fastfriends.org
Greyhound Adoption Center, San Diego:
Toll-free in California: (877) 4788364
Telephone: (619) 443-0940
Website: www.greyhoundog.org

GROENENDAEL (See Belgian Shepherd):
Kimberly Buchanan, (562) 438-3970, Email:  kimbuchanan@earthlink.net
Teri Meredyth, (310) 326-6447, Email:  Teri2ns@earthlink.net

HOUND (LARGE):
Including:  Black and Tan Coonhound, Blue Tick Coonhound, Plott            
Hound, Redbone Hound, Red Tick Coonhound, and Treeing             Walker
Coonhound
Beagles & Buddies Dog Rescue, 2661 Strozier Ave., El Monte, CA 91733
             (626) 444-9664, Email:   bglrsq@earthlink.net   
        Website: www.beaglesandbuddies.com       

IRISH WATER SPANIEL:
Los Angeles County:
Florence Blecher, (323) 874-0944, Email browndog@aol.com
Riverside County:
Betty Liitschwager, (909) 798-4058, Email BKLBLUEMAX@aol.com
Santa Barbara County:
Ruth Roes, (805) 682-2668
Orange County and San Diego County:
Michelle Cummings, (714) 672-0815, Email Topknots98@aol.com

IRISH WOLFHOUND:
Cheryl Riggs, (760) 8684214, Email:  rysheron@ aol.com
Pat Huntley, (818) 8948988

JAPANESE CHIN:
Zofia Luksic, (310) 393-4934, Santa Monica, CA
Email: Chicklett@aol.com
Barb Wade, (805) 644-2102, Oxnard, CA, Email: BSWadeCA@aol.com
Linda Sims, (559) 435-5239, Fresno, CA, Email: ChinFresno@aol.com
Carol Souza, (530) 742-9199, Northern CA, EMAil: rodeomom@syix.net

KEESHOND:
Malibu/L.A.: Tawn Sinclair, (310) 457-3569, Email TawnSinclr@aol.com
Simi Valley/L.A.: Susan McCoy, (805) 527-4096
Email Susan@foreverkees.com
Mission Viejo/Orange County: Kris Arnds, (949) 586-5989
Email Karnds@aol.com
Riverside: Jan Corrington, (909) 626-6962, Email jacorrin@linkline.com
Website: Www.foreverkees.com

KERRY BLUE TERRIER:
Southern California:
Janet Joers, (805) 688-2478, Email:  jjoers@impulse.net
Northern California:
Eileen Andrade, (510) 237-7306, Email:  my3Kerries@home.com
Judith Bruno, (415) 296-9106, Email:  jbruno@ralden.com
Diane Lee, (925) 439-7476, Email:  Dianel451@home.com

KUVASZ:
National contact:
Ivonne Lukaszczyk, Bakersfield, CA, (661) 587-8141
Email: lukas-kuvasz@att.net

LAEKENOIS (See Belgian Shepherd):
Kimberly Buchanan, (562) 438-3970, Email:  kimbuchanan@earthlink.net
Teri Meredyth, (310) 326-6447, Email:  Teri2ns@earthlink.net

LHASA APSO:
Randee Goldman, Lhasa Happy Homes Rescue, (310) 391-0095
Email: LhasaHappyHomes@aol.com
Website: www.lhasahappyhomes.petfinder.org

MALAMUTE, ALASKAN:
Tina Dunn, Alaskan Malamute Rescue of Southern California
(805) 5838280; Email:  DoubleTMal@aol.com
Website:  www.AlaskanMalamuteRescue.com

MALINOIS (See Belgian Shepherd)
Kimberly Buchanan, (562) 438-3970, Email:  kimbuchanan@earthlink.net
Teri Meredyth, (310) 326-6447, Email:  Teri2ns@earthlink.net

MASTIFF, ENGLISH:
Southern California:
Betsy Harvey, (805) 525-4980, Email:  BQH4980@earthlink.net
Jenny Zinn-Boyce, (562) 429-8213, Email:  JZinnBoyce@aol.com
Linda Murray, (818) 597-1153, Email:  LMurray_97@yahoo.com
Northern/Bay Area California
Heather Ford, (650) 333-0727, Email:  our_mail@pacbell.net

NEWFOUNDLAND:
    Denise Hatakeyama, (562) 943-3248; (714) 564-6627
        Email saanchem@hotmail.com

OLD ENGLISH SHEEPDOG:
Old English Sheepdog Rescue of Southern California, Inc.
(310) 392-3366 or (661) 821-0416
Email: OES@bnis.net or janedempsey@earthlink.net

PAPILLON:
Donna Goodman, Studio City, (818) 508-5028
Email:  PapRescue@aol.com

PIT BULL (AMERICAN PIT BULL TERRIER):
Villalobos Rescue Center (Pit Bull Rescue)
Tia Maria Torres, (661) 268-0555, Email:  RedFang13@aol.com
Website: http://www.vrcpitbull.com/

PORTUGUESE WATER DOG:  
Southern California:
Linda Otey, West Hills, (818)3477455, Email wild1otey@aol.com
Phyllis Zusman, Escondido, (619) 7312844
Northern California Rescue: Judy Archambeau, (707) 539-6465
Email pjarcham@aol.com
Portuguese Water Dog Club of Northern Califonria
Sue D’Augusta, (415) 731-9608, Email Sldaug@aol.com
Portuguese Water Dog Club of America Rescue
Mary Harkins, (610) 346-9370

PUG:           
Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside, and San Bernardino:
Pugs ‘n Pals, (949) 262-7843 (voicemail)
Tina Seri, (949) 722-0860
Email: pnp@pugdogrescue.com
Website:  www.pugdogrescue.com
Los Angeles, Riverside, San Bernardino, Kern, & South Ventura County:
Little Angels Pug Rescue, (626) 795-3944
Email Pugs@lapr.org; Website www.lapr.org
Santa Barbara, North Ventura County,  and Surrounding Areas:
Laurel Smith, (805) 682-0155, Email Eg9smith@aol.com
Ginger Julian, (805) 966-6939, Email Pugfan@Silcom.com
Santa Maria and Santa Barbara County:   
Richard and Jan Powell, (805) 937-6584
San Diego County:   Pug Rescue of San Diego County, (619) 685-3580
Also:   Pugdiva@lapr.org

RAT TERRIER:
ARTR Corporation/National Rat Terrier Rescue
Ceci and Steve Giacoma, P.O. Box 401, Tujunga, CA 91043-0401
(818) 951-8888; Website www.americanratterrier.com
Email: ARTRA@juno.com  or  RTK911@earthlink.net

RHODESIAN RIDGEBACK:  
Southern California:
Kimberly Leanos, (909) 399-0785
Email KRL13@Columbia.edu, kleanos@ridgebackrescue.org
Angie Cravens, (909) 620-7742
Email: acravens@ridgebackrescue.org
Northern California:  
Elizabeth Akers,
Email address: eakers@ridgebackrescue.org

SAMOYED:
Samoyed Rescue of Southern California Hotline: (714) 956-6180
Email:  babssam@juno.com

SCHNAUZER, MINIATURE:
Peggy Blakley, (714) 531-7473, Email Bmajersnz@aol.com
Joyce Nagel, (661) 947-3537

SHETLAND SHEEPDOG ("SHELTIE"):
SOUTHLAND SHELTIE RESCUE, INC., (562) 697-9784
Kathy Parson, La Habra, (562) 691-6038
Email: 76523.3360@compuserve.com
Judi Barry, La Habra, (562) 691-8118, Email: judibarry@aol.com
Kathleen Faulconer, Thousand Oaks, (805) 379-1208